We’ve all been in a situation like this: “I am very sensitive to gluten … one day I had only fruit and a 20 ounce coke … and got sick within fifteen minutes of drinking the coke”.
The Gluten Free Guy’s response: I wish there was some way to tell exactly what has caused an unpleasant reaction. Generally, we can’t even be certain that a specific problem was caused by gluten. We have to go with our instincts. Everyone has foods and combinations of foods that they choose to avoid.
The comment in the first paragraph was linked to an article titled “Is Coca Cola Gluten Free?” Coke contains caramel coloring, which certainly makes it ‘suspicious’. The Coca Cola company claims that it obtains its syrup from an gluten free source. Some people will accept that claim, some people will not.