Shoppers who live gluten free need to aware of the difference among the terms ‘whole wheat ‘, ‘whole grain’, and ‘multi-grain’.
~~~> The term ‘whole wheat’ indicates that all three of the parts of any grain (bran, germ, and endosperm) are used, not necessarily in the same relative amounts that we see in nature.
~~~> ‘Whole grain’ means the same thing but indicates that the mixture contains other types of grain. Whole grain food may or may not contain wheat.
~~~> ‘Multi-Grain’ means that the food item contains more than one type of grain. Wheat, rye, or barley maybe present.