is this gluten free?

Are Ancient Grains Gluten Free?

1 Comment 17 January 2014

Ancient grains are those that “have been around, unchanged, for millenniums. ” This does not automatically make them ‘safe’, of course. but people who live gluten free will frequently encounter these somewhat-unfamiliar names and need to know how to resond.

The gluten free ancient grains  include amaranth, buckwheat, chia, millet, teff, and quinoa. The article containing these names also provides recipes for cooking with each of the grains. Avoid spelt, kamut, farra, and durham — these names sound like they might be ancient grains, but they are actually varieties of wheat.


Your Comments

1 comment

  1. Fatcat says:

    This is important to know. I have had several people tell me that spelt is okay.

Share your view

Post a comment

GF THIS WEEK: our weekly newsletter

This newsletter will support your efforts to thrive gluten free.

Recent Articles


Ads by Triumph Dining

. >

Food Recalls and Warnings

© 2017 Gluten Free: The Celiac Site. Powered by WordPress.

Daily Edition Theme by WooThemes - Premium WordPress Themes