is this gluten free?

Is Food Coloring Gluten Free?

1 Comment 11 September 2012

 

Food coloring is almost certainly gluten free. The internet says very little about  that subject. I read the label on McCormick’s food coloring and found out that water is the only natural ingredient. (That raises other issues, of course, but we can say that their food coloring is gluten free.)

I’ve read dozens of gluten free recipes that called for food coloring but none that included an advisory that the food coloring must be gluten free.

{updated 3/18/14|

 

Your Comments

1 comment

  1. Those who have an intolerance to gluten need to be careful of cross-contamination of gluten in the manufacturing facilities. Many brands of food coloring are made in facility that also process gluten products. Some clean their equipment well between runs and others do not. Always contact a manufacturer to find out their gluten free food safety practices prior to using a food coloring if you are gluten intolerant.


Share your view

Post a comment

GF THIS WEEK: our weekly newsletter

This newsletter will support your efforts to thrive gluten free.

Recent Articles

ADS BY GOOGLE

Ads by Triumph Dining




. >

Food Recalls and Warnings

© 2017 Gluten Free: The Celiac Site. Powered by WordPress.

Daily Edition Theme by WooThemes - Premium WordPress Themes