Yes, it is. Gluten Free Living’s website states that “all brands sold in the United States are gluten free.” The National Federation for Celiac Awareness expresses the same idea. The only possible exception is brewer’s yeast since beer is often an ingredient. Some brewer’s yeast is made with sugar rather than beer — read labels carefully if you are buying this type of yeast.
Since yeast is gluten free, it seems reasonable that yeast extract would also be ‘safe’. Usually it is, but some yeast extract is made with barley malt which makes it 0ff-limits to us. Click here for details.
This article was published in June, 2012, and updated in March, 2013, in response to comment from a member of America’s Gluten Free Community.