08 June 2012 ~ 3 Comments

Is Hemp Gluten Free?

Yes, hemp is gluten free, high in fiber, and a great source of protein. Times change! When I was a child, hemp fiber was used to make rope. I understand that the Declaration of Independence was written on paper containing help fiber. When I was a young man, the words ‘hemp’ and ‘marijuana’ were synonymous. Today, it is illegal to grow hemp in the United States but we are welcome to import it. We are not allowed to buy or sell it in raw form.

This video is from the Today show in 2006. The speaker (obviously a salesman for food made with hemp) referred to hemp as “the hottest trend in foods”.

The hemp being used in gluten free food is officially referred to as “industrial grade hemp. Apparently, it is very different from the form of hemp that many of us are familiar with. Have a look at this video, which repeats much of what I have been saying. One interesting thing about it is that it was recorded in a Whole Foods Market, a highly-regarded source of food that is ‘safe’ in every sense of that word.

Finally, check out this article that considers hemp to “another gluten free grain” and includes recipes.

 

 

3 Responses to “Is Hemp Gluten Free?”

  1. It’s awesome to go to see this web site and reading the views of all colleagues regarding
    this post, while I am also keen of getting experience.

  2. forex scalping strategies pdf 4 March 2014 at 11:39 pm Permalink

    Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us
    so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information.
    I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Exceptional blog and wonderful design and style.

  3. Highland Beach Realtors 17 June 2014 at 2:31 pm Permalink

    Thank you, I’ve just been looking for information approximately this subject for a long time
    and yours is the best I have discovered till now. However, what about the conclusion? Are you certain about the source?


Leave a Reply