One reader’s comment: “I’ve had several people lately insisting to me that sprouted wheat and Ezekiel bread are gluten-free, and that the sprouting process does away with the gluten totally! But all I’ve been reading today tells me not to eat it, or to at least be suspicious!”
The Gluten Free Guy’s Response:. Here is the answer from ‘Food For Life’, the manufacturer of Ezekiel Bread as well as many foods that target America’s gluten free community. I’m quoting the entire response from the ‘Frequently Asked Questions‘ section of their website: “Any product that contains wheat (including semolina, durum, spelt, triticale, and kamut) rye, barley, or oats cannot be considered Gluten-Free. What is important is the sprouting process, through enzymatic activity, changes gluten to a more digestible or tolerable state. Many individuals with mild gluten sensitivities use sprouted products with no adverse side affects or allergic reactions. However each person’s individual constitution is different. We advise any person with gluten sensitivities including and in particular individuals with serious health conditions such as Celiac Disease to consult their physician before consuming any product that may contain gluten.” I think that summarizes the situation pretty well. Sprouted grains are OK if your goal is to have “more digestible or tolerable” gluten, this bread may be OK for you.