uncategorized

Is Barbecue Sauce Gluten Free?

1 Comment 14 June 2011

Most barbecue sauce is gluten free. The Heinz website specifies that these varieties of barbecue sauce are ‘safe’ for us. The Honey Smokehouse, Hickory Brown Sugar, Original #7, and Masterblend versions of their Jack Daniels Barbecue sauces are gluten free. Annie’s Naturals indicates on-line that their chipotle, smokey maple, and sweet-and-spicy barbecue sauces are gluten free.

If these brands are not available. it is probably best to look at the ingredients label. Many barbecue sauces contain distilled vinegar. Most experts say that distilled vinegar is OK but some celiacs believe that it is toxic. For this reason,  some manufacturers avoid labeling their barbecue sauces gluten free.

Preparing your own barbecue sauce is also a possibility. Click on this article for ten recommended recipes.

 

Your Comments

1 comment

  1. Susan says:

    Thanks! That’s just what I needed to know!


Share your view

Post a comment

GF THIS WEEK: our weekly newsletter

This newsletter will support your efforts to thrive gluten free.

FACTS FOR CELIACS

Categories and Sub-Categories help you find what you are looking for among the 1800+ articles on this site. Categories are in full caps & sub-categories are in lower case. The categories are listed at the top of the page. More detailed instructions are currently being prepared

GF CELEBRATIONS / chinese new year / christmas / hannukah / mardi gras / new years / presidents day / st. patrick's day / super bowl sunday / thanksgiving / valentines day

GF COOKING

GF RECIPES

GF RESTAURANTS

IS THIS GF? grains / beverages / sauces & dips / seasonings /dressing & stuffing / meat products / chewing gum / other items


THRIVING GF / healthy eating

MORE FACTS FOR CELIACS

ADS BY GOOGLE

Ads by Triumph Dining




. >

© 2014 Gluten Free: The Celiac Site. Powered by WordPress.

Daily Edition Theme by WooThemes - Premium WordPress Themes