is this gluten free?

Is Couscous Gluten Free?

0 Comments 19 May 2011

No, couscous is a wheat product and is therefore not gluten free.¬†Lundberg Farms sells a couscous-like product made from roasted brown rice and I saw that item mentioned many times on the search engines. My internet research gave me little hope of finding ‘safe’ couscous dishes in restaurants.

Many cooks substitute millet or quinoa for couscous. Here is one example from a blogger who uses millet. This blogger prefers  quinoa instead.

Article updated 7/4/13

Share your view

Post a comment

GF THIS WEEK: our weekly newsletter

This newsletter will support your efforts to thrive gluten free.

FACTS FOR CELIACS

Categories and Sub-Categories help you find what you are looking for among the 1800+ articles on this site. Categories are in full caps & sub-categories are in lower case. The categories are listed at the top of the page. More detailed instructions are currently being prepared

GF CELEBRATIONS / chinese new year / christmas / hannukah / mardi gras / new years / presidents day / st. patrick's day / super bowl sunday / thanksgiving / valentines day

GF COOKING

GF RECIPES

GF RESTAURANTS

IS THIS GF? grains / beverages / sauces & dips / seasonings /dressing & stuffing / meat products / chewing gum / other items


THRIVING GF / healthy eating

MORE FACTS FOR CELIACS

ADS BY GOOGLE

Ads by Triumph Dining




. >

© 2014 Gluten Free: The Celiac Site. Powered by WordPress.

Daily Edition Theme by WooThemes - Premium WordPress Themes