14 July 2010 ~ 2 Comments

Gluten Free Popcorn

Popcorn kernels are naturally gluten free.  Air-popped popcorn is the ideal snack since it is gluten free, fat free, inexpensive, and low in calories.

Vegetable cooking oils are gluten free,  so popcorn is generally safe on the gluten free diet.

Jolly Time and Newman’s Own specify on-line that their microwave popcorn packets are gluten free.

According to the blog Celiac Facts, most theater popcorn is gluten free. Click here for an article that takes the opposite point-of-view and includes the facts to justify its statements.

Article updated 7/4/13

2 Responses to “Gluten Free Popcorn”

  1. Mimi Kaopuiki 15 July 2010 at 11:00 pm Permalink

    check out this article about movie popcorn and gluten free issues


    After a year as a diagnosed celiac and living “gluten free”, my TTG still came in at 199 (down from 399). It is still a long ways to get to lower than 19. My docs are convinced that I am still not gluten free. I examined my life yet again and movie popcorn turned out to be the only thing I didn’t truly have gluten free confirmation. Just had a retest after 3 more months and I am waiting for the results. The Chef at Cinetopia in Vancouver told me that the toppings and the “plain butter” in their theater does contain gluten. After reading the above article, I am considering even their plain popcorn off limits too. Bummer! NOTE: Thank you for this wonderful comment and particularly for the link you provided. That article seems to me to include everything we really need to know about movie popcorn.

  2. KazzP 27 July 2010 at 3:52 am Permalink

    Wow its sometimes hard to know where to go for coeliac advice, i try to find out the foods to avoid, but it seems that I have to ask so many questions!! I guess people still dont understand how life threatening it is to take it seriously enough to find out what they can and cant use to cook things!

Leave a Reply