uncategorized

Is Annatto Gluten Free?

1 Comment 11 July 2010

Annatto is used both as a spice and as a natural food coloring. It is gluten free according to the list of “safe foods” published by Celiac.com. It is OK’d by the Celiac Sprue Association in the 12th edition of its Gluten Free Products List.

Annatto is important to us primarily because it is one of those “mystery words” that cause confusion when we are attempting to wade through an ingredients list. Like all food colorings, it can cause reactions particularly in children. Here’s a link to a worksheet published by the Food Intolerance Network that addresses that situation.

Your Comments

1 comment

  1. testing says:

    This is the right weblog for anyone who needs to seek out out about this topic. You realize so much its virtually hard to argue with you (not that I really would need…HaHa). You positively put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply great!


Share your view

Post a comment

GF THIS WEEK: our weekly newsletter

This newsletter will support your efforts to thrive gluten free.

Recent Articles

ADS BY GOOGLE

Ads by Triumph Dining




. >

Food Recalls and Warnings

© 2014 Gluten Free: The Celiac Site. Powered by WordPress.

Daily Edition Theme by WooThemes - Premium WordPress Themes