uncategorized

Malt Flavoring: Is It Gluten Free?

Comments Off 05 January 2009

Unfortunately, we can never assume that malt flavoring is gluten free. It is normally prepared from barley, and is therefore gluten toxic. It’s possible to prepare malt flavoring from other grains. If you have any evidence that this is being done, please e-mail me at gfceliac@gmail.com or leave a comment at the end of this or any article. I would be honored to publish the good news. In the meantime, read every ingredients label and reject any products containing malt, malt flavoring, or malt extract.

This issue is a concrete reminder of the difference between the terms “gluten free” and “wheat free”. Many cereals are wheat free, but the presence of malt flavoring rendering them off-limits to us. Much beer is wheat free, but the malt that it contains is derived from barley.

Published 01/05/09

 

Comments are closed.

GF THIS WEEK: our weekly newsletter

This newsletter will support your efforts to thrive gluten free.

FACTS FOR CELIACS

Categories and Sub-Categories help you find what you are looking for among the 1800+ articles on this site. Categories are in full caps & sub-categories are in lower case. The categories are listed at the top of the page. More detailed instructions are currently being prepared

GF CELEBRATIONS / chinese new year / christmas / hannukah / mardi gras / new years / presidents day / st. patrick's day / super bowl sunday / thanksgiving / valentines day

GF COOKING

GF RECIPES

GF RESTAURANTS

IS THIS GF? grains / beverages / sauces & dips / seasonings /dressing & stuffing / meat products / chewing gum / other items


THRIVING GF / healthy eating

MORE FACTS FOR CELIACS

ADS BY GOOGLE

Ads by Triumph Dining




. >

© 2014 Gluten Free: The Celiac Site. Powered by WordPress.

Daily Edition Theme by WooThemes - Premium WordPress Themes